The draw for the Africa Cup of Nations will take place on June 25

Published on : 01/04/2021 – 18:03

                The draw to distribute the 24 teams qualified for the Africa Cup of Nations has been set for June 25, 2021. Postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the football competition will begin on January 9, 2022 in Cameroon.             

The African Cup of Nations (CAN) will take place in Cameroon from January 9 to February 6, 2022, the African Football Confederation (CAF) said on Thursday April 1. The draw to divide the 24 teams into six groups has been set for June 25, 2021.

The competition was scheduled to take place this year but has been postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

A final place for the competition will be played between Sierra Leone and Benin, which will not meet until June. Their decisive match scheduled for Tuesday could not take place due to a disagreement on positive tests for Covid-19 on the Beninese side.

The 23 teams already qualified are Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Comoros, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Côte d’Ivoire, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, Sudan, Tunisia and Zimbabwe.

With AFP



Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

PREV the site that allows you to be alerted when a vaccine dose is available
NEXT DiRT 5 Trailer Updates to Version 4.0 with Additional Content